*Stands on Soapbox*

Attention every Parent, Grandparent, Auntie, Uncle, godparents, babysitter:

Your kid is having sex.  Normally, I don’t care how someone else parents their child, because it’s none of my business.  However, I don’t like hearing about a teen mom becoming a 30-something grandma.

Yup.  This woman was a 17-year-old mom and will be a 31-year-old grandma.

While normally, I would hang my head and say “That girl should have kept her knees closed” I can’t help but to wonder if maybe some of the blame should be on the parents as well.  I realize that kids are going to do whatever they want anyway.  And who knows, I may be eating my words in 15 years.  However, I can’t shake this.

I really do think that we need to start teaching our kids about sex earlier than before.  In my 8th grade sex education class, there was 3 people who were already sexually active.  And that was in a “hick” school.  Now that I live in the city, I’m pretty sure that number is higher.  As a society we are so focused on sex, but not SAFE sex and it bothers the hell outta this Momma!

I don’t understand how we can have billboards of sexually explicit content, but freak out when we need to give “the talk” to our children.  How backwards is that?  I was never taught by my parents about sex as I got older.  Except for, that I shouldn’t do it.  That is not enough.  Sooner or later, we are going to have an even bigger problem than what we have now.  And it’s a damn shame.

*Jumps off soapbox*

 

PS:  I should note that I am not generalizing all teen parents in this.  I know of many teen parents who have made an excellent life for them and their children.  I know that teenagers now do not always listen to their parents [did you listen to your parents when you were younger?].  And I realize that this is not true for all cases.  However, more often than not, teen pregnancy is done out of lack of education than anything else.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “*Stands on Soapbox*”

  1. guyerhd Says:

    I fully intend to teach my children about sex at a young age; I also will do everything in my power to prevent situations that let them walk right into it (boy/girl sleep over at the age of 13/14? Uh heck no!)

    I understand kids will have sex; and I want to make that door as wide open as possible that lets my kids come to me with “well…I think I’m ready…what are my protection options?”

    I just am astounded at the amount of children having children; sex is a big responsibility; one that I don’t think anyone under the age of 17 or 18 should be doing.

    It’s wrong to encourage it and it’s wrong to ignore it; you have to find the middle ground and then hope your child is smart enough not to.


Tell me what you think!

