Margaritas aren’t my only friend.

Before I got pregnant, I enjoyed caffeine. A lot.  Maybe too much some times.  However, I wasn’t a big coffee drinker.  Gimme Coke…diet coke…Mountain Dew…but do not give me coffee.  Bleck.  It’s bitter and gross and tastes like hot mud.  But when I got pregnant, I didn’t want caffeine because it was one of those “no no” things.  But my biggest craving was coffee.  Sure, I could have had an occasional cup o’ joe.  I know me though.  I couldn’t stop at just one cup.  So I abstained.

“When I’m done breastfeeding, I might run out for some Starbucks!” I remember saying this in the hospital right after Lil Mohawk was born.  The nurse just laughed and said: “Yea, I give you 14 months before you’re a coffee addict.”  Needless to say, I don’t know how this nurse isn’t making millions reading palms and predicting futures.  I’m hooked on my coffee.  My wonderful Dh got me a coffee maker for Christmas, and it is litterally used every morning.

Sometimes, even in the afternoon. :/

Take this morning for example.  I (again) was pushed out of my bed due to a very wild toddler-that-refuses-to-sleep-in-his-own-bed.  No biggie.  I’ll just curl up on the recliner and sleep there.  Fast forward to 8am when I’ve been awake for almost 2 hours and now I need a jolt to get things going.  I make a whole pot (12 cups!) of my husband’s (fully caffeinated) coffee.  ZOOM.  I’m pretty sure I could taste sounds and hear touch.  This morning, I was more hyped up than my 16 month old.  This morning, I got things accomplished while my husband laid in bed saying “but I’m soooo-oooo-oooooooooooooo tired!” *insert eye roll here*

And while I’m normally a nagging bitch wife when he does things like this, I just kept my duties up.  His lack of motivation will not keep me from being a super wife and mom today!  Oh no, I will conquer today!!!

Now?  Not so much.  I am DRAGGING.  Now I remember why I didn’t drink caffeine much before.  I’m addicted to that jolt.  And as much as I want to hear my little coffee pot perkulate a fresh, steamy pot of dark black golden-ness…I can’t.  Eventually, I’m going to want to sleep and that’s not going to happen I’m hopped up on my new best friend–Coffee.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tell me what you think!

